Dinner with Ms. Morning Sickness via Vesuvio’s…and an Interesting Review

John checking in.

First off, let me state for the record that I love Lisa to bits. Love of my life. To the nth degree. Sunshine of my life. Partner in crime. And so on and so forth.

Having said that, the daily event of dinner has been, como se dice, challenging. Any kind of cooking at home that would have a strong smell or flavor is pretty much off the menu. Garlic? Nope. Onions? Nyet. You get the picture. It’s especially tough on poor Lisa. Not only does she have to deal with all of the morning sickness issues, she can’t even get some kind of enjoyment out of the simple pleasure of eating. When I come home from work, and I ask “What are you thinking about for dinner?”, I get from Lisa an expression that would more likely come from me asking her “Would it be OK if I let this stark raving mad weasel chew on your leg?”

So because of all this, we’ve gotten to know our local take-out and delivery places pretty well. One place in particular is Vesuvio’s, which is right on the corner of Route 9 and Beach Blvd here in Forked River. It’s a good local mom and pop Italian place. They do a respectable pizza, put together good cold and hot sandwiches, make decent clams in garlic (not that we’d be ordering this right now), and tasty sauteed greens. I also like that there’s a picture of the World Cup 2006-winning Italian National Team on the wall, and they usually have soccer on TV. It appeals to the soccer-lover in me.

Vesuvio’s – 725 S Main Street, Forked River – (866) 376-5079

I mentioned in El Post-o Numero Uno that we would not use this blog to spew negative comments. Well, I came across my first real challenge to this notion. I read a restaurant review online at The Impulse Online. The Impulse is evidently related to the Courier-Post newspaper (some kind of weekly magazine, I believe). It was a review of the Golden Corral Buffet & Grill. After reading the review, I could only stare blankly at the computer screen, with several questions swirling in my head. Here’s a link to the review; read and decide for yourself: http://www.theimpulseonline.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20080428/IMPULSE04/304280029

UPDATE (March 2015): Vesuvio’s is still our go-to place for pizza. For consistency, they deliver the goods with regularity. They have been showing more golf than soccer lately on the TV, however. Not sure what to make of that.

2 thoughts on “Dinner with Ms. Morning Sickness via Vesuvio’s…and an Interesting Review

  1. Yeah, so I’m gonna guess that was the reviewer’s first effort outside of the school newspaper. Please let me know when they review The Ground Round or White Castle.

  2. Hey there! The Impulse Online USED to be a publication of the Courier Post. I think it was supposed to be like the alt. weekly for South Jersey. It’s not around anymore. So I gues that says it all 🙂

Leave a Reply

