Diner Thoughts #1

With the recent events surrounding Olga’s Diner, that famed institution in Marlton (that has reached an agreement to pay their owed taxes), I’ve been thinking a bit about Jersey diners.

I love diners.

I love the shiny retro facades, the neon, the big menus with way too many choices, the ability to get a meal at 2AM that consists of a plate of fries and gravy and chocolate milkshake…it’s all good.

Having lived in many different parts of the state, I have been to my share of diners, good and bad. In fact, I’ve drawn up a list of the diners that I have been to throughout the years. My count is up to 30:

Broadway Diner (Bayonne)
Coach House Restaurant (Hackensack)
Colonial Diner (Forked River)
Crystal Diner – old and new (Toms River)
Dynasty Restaurant (Delran)
Edgewater Queen (Edgewater Park)
Forked River Diner (Forked River)
Golden Dawn Diner (Edgewater Park)
Harvest Diner (Cinnaminson)
Hearthside Cafe (Barnegat)
Malibu Diner (Hoboken)
Mastori’s (Bordentown)
Medport Diner (Medford)
OB Diner (Point Pleasant)
Ocean Breeze Diner (Waretown)
Ocean Queen Diner (Brick)
Olga’s Diner (Medford)
The Original Six Brothers Diner (Little Falls)
Park West Diner (Little Falls)
Red Lion Diner (Southampton)
Rio Grande Diner (Rio Grande)
Riverside Diner (Forked River)
Sage Diner (Mount Laurel)
Sand Castle Diner (Beachwood)
Skyline Diner (Ringwood)
State Line Diner (Mahwah)
Tick Tock Diner (Clifton)
Toms River Diner (Toms River)
Victory Diner (Toms River)
Vincentown Diner (Vincentown)

I’m sure there’s one or two that I can’t remember, but that’s about it. We’d love to hear your lists and stores about diners in New Jersey. We’ll be sure to talk about this subject again as we go along.

5 thoughts on “Diner Thoughts #1

  1. I grew up with the Golden Dawn. I remember when it used to be open all night, every night- ah, the good ol’ days.Now we’re fans of the Americana in East Windsor, NJ. It’s a little higher-end food than the Golden Dawn (used to have, anyway) but it’s still a Jersey diner- with an excellent breakfast all day.

  2. “Meetcha at the dinah!”I live in Monmouth County and I can’t say we have any diners here that are outstanding overall… nothing that would attract the attention of Guy Fieri, just the occasional stack of buttermilk pancakes with just the right balance of fluff and buttery crisp to hit the spot.Great dining with you the other day! Central Jersey is part of South Jersey, right? 😉

  3. Great lunching with you,too, Renee! Glad you found the blog.As you can see, John usually beats me to the punch in posting, since he has uninterrupted lunch hours and I have, “Whatcha doing Mommy? Mommy? Huh? Watch what I can do with my Transformers, are you watching Mommy?”Glad to see you joined Jersey Biters,too. Lots of good folks on that site!-Lisa

  4. Club Diner in Bellmawr — if we get our ‘usual’ waitress, she doesn’t even have to ask for our orders.

  5. Ah, Jersey diners! When we used to live there, the Broadway Dinner in Bayonne was one of my stomping grounds. They used to make a really nice meatloaf!

Leave a Reply

