Pumpkin, Cranberries, and Muffins!

Yes, John’s right- I’ve been AWOL because I am in obsessive nesting mode. This crappy-weather weekend was the perfect excuse to stay home and cook; the point was to fill the freezer with good stuff to eat after the baby arrives and we’re all too exhausted to bother prepping meals. However, I wanted to take a break to share a really yummy recipe I found (and modified a bit): Pumpkin-Cranberry Bread. Though it makes 2 loaves of “bread”, I was jonesin’ really bad for muffins this morning and couldn’t wait to try it… so I dumped half the batter into a loaf pan, but put the rest of the batter into a muffin pan (and baked the muffins for only 30 minutes). They were amazing! Anyway, here it is-enjoy!

SPICED PUMPKIN-CRANBERRY BREAD
3 cups of sugar (I used 1 cup brown sugar for more flavor)
1 cup of melted butter or vegetable oil (butter is definately better!)
3 eggs (beaten)
1 16 oz. can of pumpkin
1 tsp. vanilla extract
3 cups of flour (I was able to use 2 cups whole wheat and 1 cup all-purpose to lessen sugar-guilt)
1 tsp. cloves
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. nutmeg
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1 1/2 cups of fresh cranberries
Preheat oven to 350 F. Butter and flour 2 loaf pans. Combine sugar and butter, then add eggs, pumpkin, and vanilla. In another bowl, combine all reamaining ingredients except for the cranberries. Stir pumpkin mixture into flour mixture (being careful not to overmix, or the bread will be tough instead of tender). Fold in cranberries. Divide into the 2 pans, and bake until a tester inserted into center comes out clean, about 1 hour. Cool in pans for 10 minutes, then turn out onto a rack to cool completely.
-Lisa
6 thoughts on “Pumpkin, Cranberries, and Muffins!

  1. Great advertiser you have in that picture! Pass one this way to have with my cocoa….please… So you are having another little advertiser…good luck, since my baby turned 21 this year I have been really going through empty nest syndrome!

  2. Those look so good! I just mde cranberry bread this weekend, which was a very November-like thing to do, I think :-)If you’re still in a pumpkin bread mood after those muffins are gone, feel free to try mine. I’ve never thrown any cranberries into the mix, but I bet that would work nicely!Good luck with those last few weeks!(From another NJ Lisa)

  3. I am new the area here so I would like to have some suggestions to which farm we should visit to get cranberries. We are looking to freeze them. Thanks

Leave a Reply

