Friday Foodstuffs 1.2.09: Set Your Goals

If the first thought that came to your head when you read the title was the CIV album from 1995, with the classic “Can’t Wait One Minute More”, you get a gold star.

It’s a new year, and most everyone at this time makes a list of goals that they would like to achieve in the upcoming year…lose weight, make more money, spend more time with the family, build death ray and take over the world…whoops, erm, did I say that out loud? Well, here are some food and blog-related goals that I have for the new year, and I’m sure Lisa would find them good goals as well…except for maybe the death ray.

* Attend more food events
Now that 2009 will be the first full year of our blog, we can attempt to go to Festivals of Food events for every season. I’m especially looking forward to spring events.

* Go to Salem County
Yes, there are restaurants, wineries and events there!

* Go to more restaurants, kids and money notwithstanding
Easy goal to say, not to easy to execute in a tough economy with a new baby. We will do our best to try new places. Our list of restaurants is awfully long – and we will post our Top 10 of where we are dying to try very soon.

* Redesign blog
Not just a change of color, but a real redesign. And just to add to the fun, I want to do it myself.

* Run a contest or two
It’s the hip thing to do on blogs these days, so I guess we should join the fun. But it will have to be clever.

* Participate in Foodbuzz’s 24, 24, 24
If you don’t know what that is, go to www.foodbuzz.com and read up. I have an idea, and it’s an awesome one, but it will require a full day’s worth of driving, many locations, and possibly other food bloggers. We shall see.

* Take more (and better) pictures
In other words: don’t forget the camera, and learn how to use the other functions!

* Post more recipes
We do cook. Really. Honest.

* Videos?
Is the world ready to see our mugs in video form?

* Brew some beer
We’ll see if Lisa the Brewmaster can get back into the groove. If we do make any beer, you will hear about it.

If there’s anything else you’d like to see on our blog, by all means let us know. Feedback is always appreciated!



Festivals of Food for Winter 2009 is…umm, a work in progress. I’ll do my best to have it up by Monday. I already some good stuff ready, and I’m looking for more!



Just a few articles to pass along:

The Press of Atlantic City has a nice article about a real local institution, Formica Bros, and their new location in Northfield.

Aaron McCargo’s show “Big Daddy’s House” is back for a second season.

The Asbury Park Press has a story about the “eat local” movement. By the way, the term ‘locavore’ sounds awful.

And a boy from Tabernacle won a national gingerbread competition.

Have a great weekend!

– John


3 thoughts on “Friday Foodstuffs 1.2.09: Set Your Goals

  1. John & Lisa, I am with you on all of it! I just learned how to create a link on my blog and on here *click*…thanks for coming over to my site…I am drawing up the plans for the brick oven tonight :)LOL the word verification is ‘atest’

  2. You’ve set some great ideas and goals. I hope that you get the chance to complete most of them. I’ve got a few for the blog as well…but they are all going to be a surprise as they happen. That way if I don’t get to them, then I will be able to let myself down easy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

