Beach Haus in the House! Upcoming Beer Samplings Down the Shore

Exciting times to be a beer lover in South Jersey: four new craft beer companies are expected to come online (hopefully) this year! While we wait with baited breath, why not try a brew that got launched last year?

East Coast Beer Company out of Point Pleasant Beach introduced its Beach Haus Classic American Pilsner last summer. The goal of co-founders Brian Ciriaco and John ‘Merk’ Merklin was a simple one: give the Jersey shore a beer to call its own. And furthermore, produce a beer made from American ingredients only. Did they accomplished this task? I will leave that up to you the tasting audience at home to decide whether they have hit the mark or not. I will say this: you won’t have trouble finding Beach Haus down the shore. If you check out their website, their beer can be found most everywhere.

You also have plenty of chances to sample Beach Haus at a number of locations down the shore this summer. Here are some upcoming dates for in-store beer tastings:

6/30
Circle Liquors – 1 MacArthur Circle, Somers Point.
609.927.2921.
4PM to 6PM.

7/1
Joe Canal’s – 720 Route 70 and Chambers Bridge Road, Brick
732.551.2109.
4PM to 6PM.

Gleeson’s Liquor – 565 Sea Isle Boulevard, Ocean View.
609.624.9463.
4PM to 7PM.

7/3
A&P Liquor – 1205 Richmond Ave (Route 35 South), Point Pleasant Beach.
732.895.9353.
12PM to 4PM.

Joe Canal’s – 1613 Route 47 South, Rio Grande.
609.886.9786.
4PM to 6PM.

7/8
Buy Rite – Route 72, Manahawkin.
609.978.3999.
4PM t0 6PM.

Murphy’s Marketplace – 9 South Bay Avenue, Beach Haven
609.492.5100.
5PM to 7PM.

7/15
Spirits Spot – 1506 Richmond Avenue (Route 35), Point Pleasant Beach.
732.701.8301.
5PM to 7PM.

7/16
Joe Canal’s – 3119 Fire Road, Egg Harbor Twp.
609.569.1133.
2PM to 4PM.

7/21
Circle Liquors – 1 MacArthur Circle, Somers Point.
609.927.2921.
4PM to 6PM.

7/22
Gorman’s Liquor Store – 3845 Bayshore Road # 8, North Cape May.
609.884.2884.
4PM to 7PM.

7/29
The Shoppes at Kensington Square – 200 Tilton Road, Northfield.
609.484.9463.
4PM to 7PM.

2 thoughts on “Beach Haus in the House! Upcoming Beer Samplings Down the Shore

  1. Ok, so I had tried Beach Haus once before and not been impressed. But after reading your blog post and learning that this is a Shore beer, I figured I’d give it another shot. So I stopped after work last night and picked up a six pack.

    My considered opinion now is … it’s not bad — for a pilsner. I think that’s my real beef with the beer: the style. The pilsner, even in craft beer form, is the style that most reminds me of the big corporate beers like Bud, Miller, and, of course, the dreaded Coors Light.

    I hope East Coast Beer Company comes out with some other styles, such as ales, stouts, etc., soon. When they do, I’ll give them a try.

    In the meantime, I’ll keep some Beach Haus on hand for my friends who do like pilsners. And I’ll use it for cooking: In fact, I’ve got a pot of kielbasa and bratwurst chili cooking in a tomato and Beach Haus sauce right now …

  2. I am in a similar camp with you regarding pilsners. Not my favorite style, either. Even Pilsner Urquell (the version that gets imported here, anyway) doesn’t do much for me.

    The chili sounds yummy. So when should we be coming over? 😉

Leave a Reply

