Smoke-N-Bones in Cape May Court House

I may not know much, but there are three things about food that I know for sure:

* A hotdog only needs mustard and sauerkraut.

* One should never pass up the opportunity to have a Mr. Pibb.

* A panzarotti is NOT a fried calzone.

I now need to add a fourth:

* The world would be a better, happier place if everyone had a big, red smoker sitting in their front yard.

Utter nonsense, you say? Just hear me out.

Recently, while zipping to and fro between Cape May and Cape May Court House, I passed a big, red smoker that was sitting in front of a new BBQ place called Smoke ‘N Bones. Just the sight of the smoker made me grin (and salivate a little), and I set my mind on stopping there to sample their offerings.

As I pulled in to the parking lot and made my way to the front of the building, there was a  cloud of smoke coming out from the smoker. Ah, but that lovely smoke wafting into the air…

There is an aroma that comes out of a smoker that makes one pleasantly happy and content, even before you have taken a nibble of the ‘cue coming out. Meat, smoke and wisdom of the ages. Smoking is not for the quick and hurried. There isn’t an app for it. Time, precious time, is gladly given to reach the destination.

The set up at Smoke ‘N Bones was straightforward: line up at the counter, place your order, and wait for your number. The guys behind the counter were nice enough, but they were busy and not idly chatting up the customers. My number was called, and my food haul and I made a hasty retreat to the outside picnic tables. Right by the smoker, I might add. A roll of paper towels would be my napkins, and I wouldn’t have it any other way. BBQ is a messy business, and you need an ample supply of cleaning helpers.

I settled down to my meal of brisket and collards. My container of collard greens were solid and dependable, with enough pot likker at the bottom. It was just what the doctor ordered.

And then it was on to the brisket. Other then fact that it was slightly dry, these chunky slabs were wonderfully smokey and peppery. As I sat there, watching the cars slowly roll by and letting the smoker envelop me with aromas, I was in a state of relaxed pleasure. Why wouldn’t  you want a big, red smoker right smack in your yard? How happy would everyone around you be? How happy could the world be? Well, maybe not the vegetarian portion of the world, but we’ll work on that.

I’m telling you, if you want world peace, deploy more big, red smokers with folks who know how to use them. Global happiness would ensue.

Smoke-N-Bones
1258 Route 9 South
Cape May Court House
609.463.8000.

Leave a Reply

